Cookie Consent by TermsFeed Symphony No. 1

Written For

Symphony Orchestra




I. Adagio-Allegro
II. Andante
III. Molto Allegro
IV. Allegro Vivace

Instrumentation: 3(Picc.)-3(E.H.)-3(E-flat Cl., B. Cl.)-2(Cbsn.), 4-4-3(B. Tbn.)-1, 5 Timp + 3 Perc., Cel., Pno., Harp, Str.

Completed April 2017, Springfield, MO

Program Notes

Most of the melodic and harmonic material in my Symphony is based on the tritone, a highly dissonant interval known to medieval theorists as “the devil in music.” The pervasive dissonance creates a sense of conflict throughout the work, driven by relentlessly repeating chords that leave little space for rest. These themes of incessant struggle and restless longing dominate the work’s emotional landscape, but its meaning (if there is one) must be left up to the listener. 



Further Information

For all inquiries regarding this piece, please use the contact form here and mention the score name you are interested in.